On May 15, the Peabody Education Foundation hosted its second annual George Peabody Legacy Award ceremony in the Wiggin Auditorium at Peabody City Hall. Several hundred people came together to celebrate the accomplishments of the six award recipients: Robert Cavanaugh, Elaine Espindle (posthumously), Carolyn McGray, Andrew Metropolis, Margaret Murphy, and Joseph O’Malley.

One thing made abundantly clear by those who introduced each recipient was the impact each educator had on the students they taught and the lives they touched. Each recipient spoke of their experiences in education and shared anecdotes and fond memories of their time spent in the Peabody school system. The Peabody Education Foundation is honored to recognize the legacy of these educators, and we congratulate them each on their successful and prolific careers in Peabody and beyond.

George Peabody Legacy 2014

The 2014 George Peabody Legacy Award recipients, with PEF chairman David Gravel and co-chair Tom Gould